I Cry For Home

I Cry For Home

While other girls cry for boys, I cry for home.

The university I study in has made Monday an official holiday of the whole campus, this means that we only go to class from Tuesdays to Fridays. There are some students though, about a fourth of the whole population, that have classes that fall on Monday. These classes are those that they won’t be able to fit in their four-day schedule. But essentially, our school enjoys a three-day long weekend (I really hope I’m explaining it properly and that you get what I’m saying). Because of this, most students (who don’t live near the University) opt to go home every Friday to spend their weekend there. So most dormitories (like mine), empty out and only a few of us remain.

I don’t usually mind being alone in the weekends. I actually appreciate the time I have for myself. I’ve been here for more than a year and I thought I’d gotten used to that odd feeling of being alone. From the start of the sophomore year, I hadn’t felt that deep, deep, longing of home. Until today. I don’t know what triggered the tears and the extreme homesickness. Minor thing like stress from all the homework, and the loneliness of being in a room with three other empty beds around me may have contributed, but I’m betting it’s because of my brother’s birthday. He’s turning 10 today. And one of the worst things I’ve felt since I started college was not being able to watch him blow his candles. I know that the solution’s easy: all I have to do is go home too, like all the other students, but unlike them, my house it ten hours away, and it would cost too much. My parents are spending a lot for my education as it is.

I also know that it’s a consequence I have to accept, since I chose to study so far from home. And I actually love studying where I am; there are just those times when I wish I could give my siblings a hug, even for a really short while. At times like these, I even miss all the fights we have at home. Heck, I sometimes even miss my house chores.

So if there are any people out there who can’t keep on complaining about their home, and how they’d love to be away from their families, I can only say that yeah, sometimes it could be fun to be all independent and free. But there are always those sparkly and slow-mo moments that can only happen at home.

((Pic by pictureguy at deviantart))

About vani

Dreamer

Leave a Reply

